Let’s talk about The Mindy Project- We’re a Couple Now, Haters!

It felt SO good to have Shulman and Associates back in my life, even if Peter desperately needs a haircut. Mindy and Danny as a couple is my new favorite thing on television. They’re such a mess and still, kind of, perfect for each other? I’m not sure how that works, but it’s happening and I’m loving every minute of it.

Mindy, as we all know very well, cannot keep a secret or keep anything to herself. Danny is nothing like that. He’s a guy who values his privacy. So, to have Mindy going around the office telling everyone how good he is with his mouth kind of sends Danny off on a little tailspin. Mindy agrees, though, to keep their relationship between the two of them.

It works for, oh, about a day. She goes home to Danny’s and he tells her how proud he is of her and, as a reward, has some gossip for her. Well, not gossip because Danny doesn’t gossip. Anyway, he saw Jeremy giving Lauren– PETER’S GIRLFRIEND– a back rub. Mindy takes the news well and it seems like it’s something she can keep to herself. Then, she finds a pink stripper thong with the word Diamond written in rhinestones. Danny kind of freaks out and that’s that.

Until Mindy goes to Peter for some advice. She stops herself, though (good for her!) but Peter doesn’t let her leave until she gives him advice on really expensive earrings he wants to buy for Lauren. Cue the trouble.

Mindy finds out the stripper thong is a MEN’S thong and then, along with Morgan, finds out that Danny was Diamond Dan once upon a time. She also tells Morgan about Lauren and Jeremy. So, by the time she gets to a charity event at Lauren’s, the whole practice knows about the possible cheating scandal. This includes the new IT guy, Lou, who is Morgan’s murderer cousin, played by the hilarious Rob McElhenney, who is the one to break the news to Peter.

Mindy and Danny fight about keeping secrets- her not being able to and him having too many to hide.Then he storms away when he finds out everyone knows about the back rub. Peter confronts Lauren while Tamra videotapes it and finds out that, no, they aren’t sleeping together, but that, yes, they did kiss. Peter punches Jeremy and Jeremy tells him that he likes Lauren and that he’s going to try and win her heart. Poor, poor Peter.

That’s that outside of the Mindy-Danny relationship. Back at her place, on the balcony, Danny comes to tell her a list of secrets (after Morgan and Lou convince him that she’s, like, really into him). These secrets include his middle name (Alan, after his dad), the fact that he carried a purse to school through fourth and fifth grade because his mother couldn’t afford a backpack, and Mindy shares her own– she’s telling everybody everything because it makes things more real and the more real they are, the less likely it is for it to get taken from her. Then, Danny convinces her it’s real and they go inside to go to bed.

Casual, no big deal. Right? WRONG! Danny breaks out some of his stripper moves for Mindy and it is the SEXIEST thing that’s ever happened in the history of the world. Holy crap! It was AMAZING. I’m still not over it. I never will be.

I’m so excited to see how these two figure out their relationship. It sure as hell won’t be easy, but it’s going to be so worth it! I’m so happy this show is back in my life. I’ve missed it dearly.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Let’s talk about The Mindy Project- We’re a Couple Now, Haters!

  1. I feel so sorry for Peter! I always prefered Jeremy to Peter in the beginning, but when Peter sort of became Mindy’s go-to-guy and he really seemed to care about Lauren I just couldn’t stomach the idea that Jeremy would take her away from him. I wonder how that story is gonna turn out.
    Diamond Dan is the best thing I have ever seen! Can’t get it out of my mind …

    • I love Peter an unhealthy amount. It definitely has a lot to do with Adam Pally and how desperately I miss Happy Endings, but I love Peter. I especially love how he’s Mindy’s confidant. They’re too funny together. I am super interested to see Jeremy have a real storyline, though, so I’m excited about this Peter-Lauren-Jeremy triangle.

      Diamond Dan will forever be on a loop in my head. It’s my favorite thing to happen on TV in such a long time.

      • I totally understand your infatuation with Adam Pally, because I totally miss Happy Endings as well! It’s true though that Jeremy didn’t have much of a storyline of his own.

        This season is going to be great!

Leave a Reply

