Let’s talk about New Girl- The Last Wedding

Um, I didn’t realize how much I missed these fools until they were back on my screen causing a ruckus. I laughed SO much during this episode and it just made me so happy. Season 3 was rough. I think everyone can agree to that. Nick and Jess may be meant to be, but not now. Man, they both have a lot to do before they can even think about settling down with anyone, let alone each other. That’s okay. I want to watch that ride.

I was pleasantly surprised by Jessica Biel, guys. She was hilarious and a perfect person to go head to head with Jess. Reid Scott could have been utilized a little more. I feel like he was just there. And he is SO good in Veep and My Boys. He could have fit right in. But, I get it, last night’s episode wasn’t about Jess and Ted. It was about Jess, Nick, Schmidt, Winston, Cece, and Coach.

FINALLY! I love when the group is an actual group. I loved early season one when every episode would end with them all together. We got that last night and I feel like we have a lot more of that to look forward to. I hope so. That is what made me fall in love with the show in the first place.

We got some good group action for sure, but we also got some AMAZING Nick and Schmidt scenes. Those are my favorites, right behind the group ones. Nick and Schmidt, Jake Johnson and Max Greenfield, are so funny together. They have some real comedic chemistry and it radiates on screen every single time. Last night, they were on fire and even though Schmidt didn’t get that four way, it’s probably for the best. Nick’s hoof hands and all.

Yeah, so last night was the twelfth and last wedding of the summer. Schmidt and Coach had a great summer, hooking up with girls, wedding after wedding. Winston, Nick, and Jess, though, had a bit of a dry summer and this wedding was the last chance for ALL of them to go home with someone. No one actually did, but they got to go home together with their newly returned and single friend, Cece.

I’m excited for season four. I can’t wait to see more of the group, more Cece and Schmidt(?), and how the Nick/Jess relationship is navigated.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

