Let’s talk about love triangles

I wasn’t sure if I wanted to do my favorite or least favorite love triangles, mainly because I hate the whole trope. But, there are some triangles that work out for the best and others that are just used for drama (lookin’ at you, Rookie Blue). So, since I don’t know which list to do, I’ve decided to do a list of the love triangles that made me FEEL the most– good or bad.

Sam/Andy/Nick- Rookie Blue

You knew I was going to do this one, didn’t you? This is definitely one I hate. Without question, Nick was made a romantic prospect just to make waves in the McSwarek story. Well, joke’s on you, Nick Collins. Sam and Andy came out WAY on top and slayed it throughout season 5.

Pacey/Joey/Dawson- Dawson’s Creek

I don’t like Dawson as a character, so I especially don’t like him as a love interest. However, I see why this triangle was so difficult for the characters involved. And, even though I know in my heart that Pacey is the right man for Joey, I understand the arguments in Dawson’s favor. I don’t agree with them, but I get them.

Ross/Rachel/Joey- Friends

This whole storyline was a joke, right? A sick, sick joke?

Summer/Seth/Anna- The OC

Oh, Anna, I really liked you. And you made a lot of sense at one point. But you and Seth were just way too similar. And Summer and Seth had that whole opposites-attract-thing going on. Plus, the chemistry was just there for them where it wasn’t for Anna and Seth.

Baze/Cate/Ryan- Life Unexpected

Who remembers this show? I loved it so hard. And, from day 1, I was rooting for Baze and Cate to get their stuff together and figure it out. I mean, sure, they hooked up once in high school and it resulted in a baby that Baze didn’t even find out about until 16 years later when said baby showed up on his doorstep, but Baze and Cate were meant to be. It was especially obvious when you threw Lux into the mix. They were a family and, sorry Ryan, this story ended just as I wanted it to (albeit, a little too soon for my liking).

Jess/Rory/Dean- Gilmore Girls

Dean was perfect, right? Wrong. I hate Dean. Jess was perfect? Not at all. He was terribly flawed. But that’s why I loved him. He and Rory just made sense. They had so much in common, but were also so different. Yeah, he bailed. And, yeah, it was wrong. But, if this show were to ever get a follow-up, they need to happen. The last we saw of him, he was exactly the man that Rory Gilmore deserved. And the last we saw of Dean… I don’t even remember because his character was so insignificant to me.

Danny/Mindy/Cliff- The Mindy Project

I thoroughly enjoyed Mindy lusting after Cliff. Really, I did. And I also liked that it made it so much clearer to Danny how he felt about her. This is a love triangle that I was happy to get behind. And even happier because it ended in my favor! Can’t wait to see how Mindy and Danny fare in season 3!

Aidan/Carrie/Big- Sex and the City

I love Aidan Shaw so much it hurts. Therefore, this love triangle kills me. Carrie had, in my opinion, the best man when she cheated on him with Big. And then, she got a second chance with him. But, Big was always an issue. But he’s not even, really, the reason they broke up the second time. I mean, probably he was on some level, but she just couldn’t marry Aidan. Fine, I get it, whatever. She loved Big. He was the love of her life. Blah blah blah. #TeamAidan

Logan/Veronica/Duncan- Veronica Mars

Notice, I didn’t do Piz? Veronica’s relationship with Duncan was more troublesome and, had he stuck around, would have continued to be. Logan and Veronica belong together. I truly believe that. Duncan, though, was a serious contender up until that whole baby-with-Meg-thing. Who knows what would have happened if Duncan didn’t kidnap Lily? Would that what-if sequence in the graduation episode be accurate? I don’t know. I hope so…

Ted/Robin/Barney- How I Met Your Mother

Don’t even get me started on the huge disappointment that was the series finale. Ted and Robin never belonged together. I stand by that now more than ever. And I actually really liked Robin and Barney together. They deserved a chance and they got it. And it was ruined so Ted could end up with a woman who never really seemed to want to be with him…

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

