Let’s talk about Rookie Blue- Moving Day

I loved this episode. I really, honestly did. Maybe it’s because there were no major spoilers? Maybe it was Moving Day. Maybe it was because Sam and Andy shone as a couple. Maybe it was Chloe. Maybe it was Nick. Maybe it was ALL of it.

So, Moving Day is a day where officers need to make sure that tenants are moved out of their apartments on time and it was Andy, Chloe, Nick, and Gail on site. It was Dov and Oliver’s job to watch the footage from their new chest cameras.

  • I usually end with McSwarek, but I’ll start with it today. Um, they were perfect. They are perfect. I have wanted– since day one– a domestic McSwarek. We got one, guys! They ate dinner in bed together while waiting for The Bachelorette to begin. That’s so sweet and, like Gail noted in the video demonstration, boring. But that is all I want for them– no drama, just love. They’ve got that now and I hope to god it lasts.
  • I was all about Nick’s backstory last night, too. We knew his parents were dead and that he didn’t have any other family. After Gail accidentally made us aware of it again, we saw how much it’s affected him. How could it not, really? He and Gail’s first stop at the condo complex was to a home with two teenagers and, what turned out to be, a missing mother. Not so much missing as a mother who abandoned her children. These kids were getting by by stealing and reselling bicycles, so Nick had to bring them in. Once he realized where their mother was (or wasn’t, more accurately) he arrested them both so they could be put into the same group home. His old group home. I like Nick backstory. It really makes me love him more and more as a character. Plus, you know, he may have met a girl that isn’t Gail or Andy. And I am ALL about that!
  • Chloe and Wes signed their divorce papers. And they also kissed. Which, I blame Wes, but it still made me boil. Because Dov and Chloe are finally seeming more like the lovable idiots I’ve missed the last few weeks. She also didn’t tell him and, I’m pretty sure, she successfully erased the footage from the chest cam. Sidenote: Chloe and Andy are great together. My guess is it’s because Missy and Priscilla are such great friend IRL, but I love how it comes off onscreen. 
  • Chloe and Andy uncovered an human trafficking ring. And thanks to Chloe’s flawless Portuguese, they were able to, along with Sam and Traci, make the sick people behind it pay. 
  • Gail just keeps on growing. After she was the one to stay on the Moving Day scene while everyone else was off working other cases, she ended up helping. She helped. She’s a changed woman. I’m just kidding, she’s always been a good person. Sometimes, it’s not always easy for her, but that’s the change I see. It’s becoming easier for her to stop pretending like she doesn’t care about things and people. I’m proud of her. 
  • After last week’s webisode, I am even more obsessed with the Peck siblings as a solid unit. They’re both struggling with their love lives now and had to go to a Peck family dinner. It was nice to see them doing it together.

Is this the last happy episode before the season comes to an end? Probably. But, it was a great one. It showcased a lot of people. Oh, and it was mentioned, between Chloe and Dov, that Chris is in rehab. YAY. 

After the promo:

Nick and Andy are in danger. It looks like Sam is leading the troops to solve whatever case got them into that danger. The last two episodes are going to be tough, I think. And I just hope that everyone, especially Sam and Andy, come out stronger on the other side.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Let’s talk about Rookie Blue- Moving Day

  1. Remember how we talked about Nick needing some development as a character alone? He totally got that in that episode and I am so immensly happy about that! I love Nick, and while I am totally on board with McSwarek, I wished he got more screen time after the break up and he finally did. So yay! I cannot wait for next weeks episode, it seem so intense!

Leave a Reply

